Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Deleting a Milestone

How to delete a Milestone, when they can’t be deleted, and when you should delete a Milestone versus repurpose a Milestone

Deleting a Milestone

To delete a Milestone, follow these steps:

  1. Click  Milestones in the navigation panel.
  2. Click the Options button to the far right of the Milestone you want to delete.
  3. Select Delete Milestone.
  4. If you are deleting the currently active Milestone, select a replacement active Milestone.
  5. Click the Delete button.

Warning: Deleting a Milestone is permanent and cannot be undone. Deleting a Milestone that has Scenarios associated with it will also permanently delete all of those Scenarios and Scenario Items.

Deleting a Milestone with Items

If a Milestone has Items associated with it, it cannot be deleted until all associated items are removed. To do this, open the Item Detail view and, in the Milestone section, click the X next to the milestone name to remove the association. If the item is currently linked to the milestone you want to delete, transition the Item to another milestone first, then remove the original association.

To confirm all items have been removed, go to the Milestones tab and check the Items column. If Items are still linked, click the Items (#) hyperlink next to the Milestone to view a list of remaining Items that need to be disassociated.

If another user on the project has created Draft Items tied to the milestone, you’ll be notified of who they are when you attempt to delete it. Those users must follow the same steps to unassign their draft items before the milestone can be deleted.

Deleting a Milestone with Timeline Dependencies

To delete a Milestone from the Milestones page, you must first remove all of its Timeline dependencies (predecessors, successors, and parent phase nesting). Otherwise, the Milestone can be deleted from the Timeline page without removing the dependencies by Enabling Editing and then right-clicking the Milestone Activity and selecting Delete.